Of Mice and Men

You know how when you’re in your teens and twenties and guys are a bumbling mass of cluelessness around you and it is kind of cute? Well, not so much when we are peri-forty. Then it is just a colossal annoyance.
Someone slid into my DM earlier in the year, and although I do not like responding to DMs from strangers, I replied. Maybe because we were alumni of the same school and had mutual friends; or maybe because my friends had been admonishing me to “stop this nonsense behaviour of ignoring DMs” if I wanted to ‘see husband.’
He initially looked like he knew what he was doing because:
1. He was not Gen Z
2. He immediately asked for my number instead of “hi angle-ing” inside DM like people usually did.
It did not take me long, however, to realise that that was the full extent of his sense. First off, we live in the same town and he once asked me if I was okay with a long distance relationship 🙄
Oga, in the first place, from where to where?
Secondly, he made no effort whatsoever for us to meet- he was content with calling me at ridiculous hours to talk for eternity on WhatsApp. After a while, I let him know I was not about that life: the purpose of a meet would be to see if we could actually get along in real life, but since that was not happening, our conversations were becoming a chore for me. He ignored everything I said and tried to return to status quo. I blocked him!

He returned to my DM a few weeks later asking to be unblocked from Whatsapp, and I obliged because I was not ready for too much talk. Nothing has changed though, he drops by every 9-10 business days trying to start a conversation. I usually reply for the first few minutes and move on because we really have nothing to talk about and small talk is not my thing. As it stands, I have stopped responding altogether. He did not figure out that he was soliloquising until a few days ago, and he proceeded to send me this message:

Obviously I am doing something wrong.

No kidding!

Leave a comment